AUDITION INFORMATION

GENERAL INFORMATION 

The Philadelphia Wind Symphony is an all-volunteer ensemble comprising of musicians who are active performers and professionals in many different fields. The ensemble performs four concerts each season and will rehearse three times in a two week period to prepare for the performance.

 

We remain flexible around our core member's personal schedules and engage substitute musicians as needed throughout the season. Beyond the openings we have for the 2017-18 season, we encourage any woodwind, brass and percussion instrumentalist interested in performing with us to audition for our substitute pool.

 

2017-18 ENSEMBLE OPENINGS

Clarinet

Oboe (principal)

Tenor Sax

Horn

Tenor Trombone

Bass Trombone

Percussion

  - Substitute Musicians: All Instruments

 

AUDITION REQUIREMENTS

  • Two contrasting pieces of your choice: one technical and one lyrical
  • Sight-reading
    • All auditions are performed without an accompanist

AUDITION & REHEARSAL LOCATION

West Philadelphia Preparatory High School - Music House

4501 Chestnut Street Philadelphia, PA 19139

Free Parking behind the school at 46th and Chestnut Streets

 

AUDITION SCHEDULE & SIGN UP

Click here to schedule an audition

 

2017-18 REHEARSAL & CONCERT SCHEDULE

Concert 1 (@ Rowan University)

  Wednesday, October 18, 7-9 p.m.

  Monday, October 23, 7-9 p.m.

  Wednesday, October 25, 7-9 p.m.

  Saturday, October 28, 4-6:30 p.m. (dress rehearsal); 8 p.m. (concert)

 

Concert 2 (Philadelphia Location TBD)

  Wednesday, November 29, 7-9 p.m.

  Monday, December 4, 7-9 p.m.

  Wednesday, December 6, 7-9 p.m.

  Saturday, December 9, 6:30-7:30 p.m. (dress rehearsal); 8 p.m. (concert)

 

Concert 3 (@ Drexel University)

  Tuesday, March 6, 7-9 p.m.

  Tuesday, March 13, 7-9 p.m.

  Friday, March 16, 7-9 p.m.

  Monday, March 19, 6-7 p.m. (dress rehearsal); 7:30 p.m. (concert)

 

Concert 4 (Philadelphia Location TBD)

  Wednesday, May 2, 7-9 p.m.

  Monday, May 7, 7-9 p.m.

  Wednesday, May 9, 7-9 p.m.

  Saturday, May 12, 6:30-7:30 p.m. (rehearsal); 8 p.m. (concert)

 

Questions? E-mail us: audition@philadelphiawindsymphony.org